Belper Historical Society has worked since 1957 to promote a better understanding and appreciation of Belper’s history and heritage.

Our membership continues to grow and meetings are  held monthly, except for August, in the main hall of Strutts Centre (the former Herbert Strutt School) on Derby Road, Belper, DE56 1UU.

Membership costs £15 per year. Follow the link at the top of the page for membership details.

Visitors are welcome to come along to our meetings for a fee of £4 payable on the door.

Society talk about Belper's musical links from this year's programme

The Annual General Meeting of the society is held in November when elections for the committee are made.

Belper Historical Society member's lecture from Charles Hanson

The current committee is comprised of:

Chairman – Alan Kerry

Secretary – Adrian Keetley

Treasurer – Heather Eaton

Vice Chairman – Adrian Farmer

Other committee members are:

Brian Deer

Mary McLean Farmer

Mary Featherby

Justin Keeley

Jane Whitaker

Come along to our meetings at

Strutts Community Centre, Derby Road, Belper, DE56 1UU

Herbert Strutt School entrance